Tag Archives: Tibet

Kuan Yin

About Kwan Yin

Known as The Goddess of Mercy, Gentle Protector, Bodhisattva of Compassion, even the savior of seamen and fishermen, she holds many titles.

The spelling of her name varies – Kwan Yin, Kuan Yin, Quan Yin, Guanshiyin, Guanyin, Kwannon, Gwun Yam, Gun Yam, Kannon and more – but it is not so much the arrangement of letters as it is the effect that her spoken name produces on those with a Buddhist background, similar to a reaction in the West when one is speaking of the Virgin Mary. In both cases, it invokes the feeling of compassion and unconditional love. Indeed, her force is compared to Mother Mary in the West, Green Tara in the Tibetan culture, the Virgin of Guadeloupe in Mexico, and many other ancient goddesses, the matriarchy of old. You might call her the Buddhist Madonna, or, as She calls Herself, “The Mother of all Buddhas”.

By her own words, she is a complex energy presence. Thus, when asked her about her incarnations as “Kwan Yin,” this involves many persons that have embodied and reflected this energy in their lives on earth, as far as we can understand. According to Sucheta’s channelings, the closest association of Kwan Yin being linked to a person energetically in recent times is Miao Shan, an ancient Chinese princess who was known for her great compassion. Here is a quote from Kwan Yin about this: Continue reading


Green and White Stars

Tara: Buddhist Goddess in Green and White
From Religion Facts

What is Tara?

Tara (Sanskrit, “star”) is a Buddhist savior-goddess especially popular in Tibet, Nepal and Mongolia. In Tibet, where Tara is the most important deity, her name is Sgrol-ma, meaning “she who saves.” The mantra of Tara (om tare tuttare ture svaha) is the second most common mantra heard in Tibet, after the mantra of Chenrezi (om mani padme hum).

The goddess of universal compassion, Tara represents virtuous and enlightened action. It is said that her compassion for living beings is stronger than a mother’s love for her children. She also brings about longevity, protects earthly travel, and guards her followers on their spiritual journey to enlightenment. Continue reading

Theosophical Serpent

firepyramid1_en_0The Kundalini Serpent (Eighth Chakra)
Written by Andy Lloyd, 2002

In my essay ‘The Secret Knowledge of Nibiru’ I described the possible connection between the Dark Star and the Eighth Sphere of the Theosophists (1). It seems that this Eighth Sphere was once a closely guarded secret of Madame Blavatsky’s Theosophy school, itself an already rather esoteric discipline.  However, the Theosophist A.P. Sinnett publically drew attention to a belief held by Inner Order esotericists about an invisible Sphere which was counter-balanced by the Moon (2).  This revelation isn’t exactly news, of course, as Sinnett’s faux-pas was made at the end of the 19th Century.  But it may have some relevance to my own research into possible ancient Dark Star symbols contained within esoteric lore.

On the face of it this piece of esoteric trivia doesn’t exactly set the world alight.  Until the significance of the counter-balancing of the Moon is considered.  In Alchemy, Luna Continue reading

Ishta Devata Yidam


In Vajrayana Buddhism, an Ishta-deva or Ishta-devata (Sanskrit: इष्टदेवता) (Yidam in Tibetan) is a fully enlightened being who is the focus of personal meditation, during a retreat or for life. The term is often translated into English as tutelary deity, meditation deity, or meditational deity. The Ishta-deva appears in the ‘Inner’ refuge formula of the Three Roots and is also the key element of Deity Yoga since the ‘deity’ in the yoga is the Ishta-deva.

Nomenclature and etymology

The Sanskrit word iṣṭadevatā or iṣṭadevaḥ is a compound of iṣṭa (desired, liked, reverenced) + devatā (a deity or divine being). It is defined by V. S. Apte as “a favorite god, one’s tutelary deity.” Though this term is used in many popular books on Buddhist Tantra, the Continue reading

The Three Roots

Vajrakilaya - Wrathful Yidam Deity - WikiThe Three Roots (Tib. tsawa sum; Wyl. rtsa ba gsum) are:

  1. lama,
  2. yidam, and
  3. khandro.

“[They are] the inner refuge of the Secret Mantrayana. They are like the root or the basis for all the positive accumulations until you attain enlightenment.”

According to the Vajrayana,

  • the lama is seen as the Buddha,
  • the yidam as the Dharma, and
  • the khandro as the Sangha.

As it says in the Longchen Nyingtik Ngöndro Refuge:

“Buddha, Dharma and Sangha are in reality lama, yidam and khandro.”

Three Roots Practices

In the Nyingma tradition, once we have accomplished the ngöndro, we Continue reading

Witchcraft of Tibet

Worry BeadsWitchcraft of Tibetan Lamaism

Tibetan Lamaism,witchcraft is an indispensable component, without it there will be no much left in its doctrines. Most of Tibetan black magics are designed to destroy political opponents, in which demon spirits are enlisted as the main attacking force.

The following are some voodoo arts detailed in a classic Lamaist work Secret Art of Mantra Chanting to Invoke Composed Angry Spirit:

If you want to destroy your foe, you can position Continue reading

Another Hell on Earth

Dala Lama InitiationWhen Dalai Lama Ruled: Hell on Earth

This article was published by Revolutionary Worker on February 22, 1998 at “revcom.us/a/firstvol/tibet/tibet2.htm”. The following are the excerpts […]:

Hard Climate, Heartless Society

At the time of the revolution, the population of Tibet was extremely spread out. Villages, monasteries and nomad encampments were often separated by many days of difficult travel. Continue reading

%d bloggers like this: