Tag Archives: Moon

Most Super Moon

Supermoon ScienceblogsMost “super” supermoon of 2013 on June 22-23
by Bruce McClure and Deborah Byrd

Full moon falls on June 23, 2013 at 11:32 UTC (6:32 a.m. CDT in the U.S.). Thus, for many, the moon appears about as full in the June 22 evening sky as it does on the evening of June 23. This full moon is not only the closest and largest full moon of the year. It also presents the moon’s closest encounter with Earth for all of 2013. The moon will not be so close again until August, 2014. In other words, it’s not just a supermoon. It’s the closest supermoon of 2013.

At United States’ time zones, the moon will turn full on June 23 at 7:32 a.m. EDT, 6:32 a.m. CDT, 5:32 a.m. MDT and 4:32 a.m. PDT. Continue reading

Lunar Calendar and Solar Dates

sun and moonA 13-month Lunar Calendar with Solar Dates
by Karl Palmen (2006)

I have found a relatively simple way of [adding] a solar date to a date of a 13-month lunar calendar and then found a simple way using this solar date system to regulate the 13-month lunar calendar.

The Lunar Calendar in The Invisible Landscape suggests a lunar calendar where each lunar year has 13 lunar months. The mean year would be just under 384 days.

I found that with such a calendar it would be quite easy to add a solar date to each such lunar calendar date to indicate the time of year. The solar dates belong to solar years and solar months defined thus: Continue reading

%d bloggers like this: