Qabalah Tree of Life 2The Sefirot
(edited, 7M)

The symbol of the Sefirot is the defining notion of Kabbalistic theosophy. The Sefirot (singular Sefirah) are the building blocks of creation, the archetypes of existence to be overtaken to form the traits of the new God, and the new values of Egypt. The earliest reference to the Sefirot is in the Sefer Yetzirah (The Book of Formation), where the ten Sefirot and the twenty-two letters of the Hebrew alphabet are together said to comprise the “thirty-two paths of wisdom” through which God “engraved and created the new world”. Subsequently, the Sefirot symbolism became a predominant theme in Sefer ha-Bahir, the Zohar, and all later Kabbalistic texts.

The word “sefirah” literally means “counting,” but a number of other etymological connections are evident in Sefer Yetzirah and in the Kabbalah. These include the words sepher (text), sepharim (books), sippur (communication), and sappir (sapphire, brilliance, luminary), separ (boundary) and safra (scribe) which considerably broaden the terms connotative significance (Scholem, Kabbalah, p. 100). The term is not originally connected to the Greek sphaira (sphere). Yet, since Kabbalists conceptualized the Sefirot as circles encompassing the material world, a connotative connection with the heavenly “spheres” in the Ptolmaic picture of the universe was, and continues to be readily evoked. Sefer Yetzirah spoke of the Sefirot are the “Breath of the living God” and as living numerical beings that are the hidden “depth” and “dimension” to all things.

By the time of Sefer Ha Bahir (late twelfth century), the Sefirot were no longer regarded as numbers, but were understood in Gnostic or Neoplatonic terms as aeons or logoi, which serve as the instruments of creation. Sefer ha-Bahir identifies the Sefirot with the ma¹amoroth (the ten words or sayings by which the world was created, and with middoth (God¹s attributes or traits). In doing so the Bahir establishes a link between the Sefirot and certain talmudic ideas. For example, we read in the Talmud that the world was created through ten things: “by wisdom and by understanding, and by reason and by strength (Gevurah), by rebuke and by might, by righteousness and by judgment, by loving kindness and compassion” (Talmud, Tractata Hagiga 12a). The connection with this and other talmudic, aggadic, and biblical passages (Chronicles 29:11) suggests that the Sefirot mimic earlier ideas.

The question of whether the Sefirot are one with Ein-sof or are emanated as independent entities is left somewhat ambiguous in most of the Kabbalistic sources. Azriel, and later the Zohar, speak of them as being one with Ein-sof, in the sense that the flame, the sparks, and the aura are one with the fire. According to Azriel the Sefirot, like Ein-sof itself, have the dialectical character of being “the synthesis of everything and its opposite,” a synthesis which is the source of all energy in everything whatsoever. Both the Zohar and Joseph Gikatilla equate each Sefirah with a biblical name of God, suggesting that if they are not to be completely identified with the deity they are, at the very least, his aspects or powers.

The Zohar uses a variety of terms as “levels”, “powers”, “firmaments”, “worlds”, “pillars”, “lights”, “colors”, “dates”, “gates”, “streams”, “garments”, and “crowns” to refer to the Sefirot. The Zohar conceptualizes the Sefirot as dimensions, archetypes, spiritual forces, activities within the Godhead [Egypt], gates to the divine world [Egypt as Eden], aspects of God and ways in which God is manifest in re-creation. The Sefirot symbolism implies that God, the world [Egypt], the human soul, and the act of knowledge are all a single, unified essence or substance.

Amongst the Lurianists we find the idea that the initial results of Ein-sof’s “turning inward” via the Tzimtzum produces a differentiation of divine middot or traits within the godhead. The progressive differentiation of these divine traits give rise to the ten Sefirot which are ultimately emanated as receptacles (Kelim) into the lower world. Further, Luria postulated that the Sefirot undergo dynamic transformations as a result of dramatic events that occur both within the godhead and in the created world. Amongst these are the “Catharsis of Din” and the “Breaking of the Vessels.”

The Sefirot number ten, but they were subject to a variety of appellations. Isaac the Blind named six of the Sefirot directly for the praises of God enumerated in I Chronicles 29:11:

Yours, O Lord, is the greatness (gedullah), power (gevurah), the beauty (tiferet), the victory (netzach), the majesty (Hod)…yours is the kingdom (malchut).

These Sefirot were, however, renamed by later Kabbalists, resulting in a system in which there are often several names for each Sefirah. Keter (Crown), for example, is also referred to as Ayin (Nothingness), Ratzon (Will), Atika Kaddisha (the Holy Ancient One), and Ehyeh (“I will be”).

However, a fairly uniform scheme was adopted in the later Kabbalah, one that accords with the order of the Sefirot as given by Moses Cordovero.

Order of the Sefirot

1. Keter Elyon (Supreme Crown) or Ratzon (Will)

2. Chochmah (Wisdom)

3. Binah (Intelligence) or Gedulah (Greatness)

4. Chesed (Love)

5. Gevurah (Power) or Din (Judgment)

6. Tiferet (Beauty) or Rachamim (Compassion)

7. Netzach (Lasting Endurance)

8. Hod (Majesty)

9. Yesod Olam (Foundation of the World) or Tzaddik (Righteous One)

10. Malchut (Kingdom) or Atarah (Diadem), or Shekhina (Feminine divine presence)

The Sefirot are depicted as a tree of life or as limbs and organs of the new Man (Adam Kadmon). The above scheme is frequently altered in the Lurianic Kabbalah, which eliminates Keter, and interposes the Sefirah Da¹at (Knowledge) between Binah and Chesed.

The Sefirot are discussed in Chapter Four (pp. 155-234) of Symbols of the Kabbalah, where the many metaphors (e.g. the Cosmic Tree, colors, questions, garments, sexuality) used to elucidate them are described, each Sefirah is studied individually and in its dialectical relationship with each of the others, and the theory of a ten dimensional universe is interpreted in Kabbalistic terms. The Lurianic Kabbalah is treated in Sanford Drob’s Symbols of the Kabbalah and Kabbalistic Metaphors .

Source: http://www.newkabbalah. com/sefirot.html


Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “Lu-Sephirot

  1. The Ladder | The Seven Worlds August 6, 2015 at 8:49 pm Reply

    […] until the Essenes reduce the number to seven. The latter Cabalists are said to have made ten Sephriroth – the Kingdom, the Foundation, Splendor, Firmness, Beauty, Justice, Mercy, Intelligence, […]

Leave a comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: